Anson County 4-H Holds Achievement / Recognition Banquet

— Written By and last updated by

Forty one proud relatives, friends and supporters were in attendance at the annual 4-H Achievement Night, held Tuesday, February 16th  at the Cooperative Extension Center. The event was held to honor Anson County 4-H’ers , 4-H Volunteer Leaders for their accomplishments over the last year, and Volunteer Leaders who have given of their time to help with programs in 4-H. Youth and adults were recognized and awarded ribbons, certificates, and medals.

Deserving young 4-H’ers earned scholarships for club project work. These scholarships, provided through program fundraising efforts, will be used toward 4-H trips, camps and  4-H project area supplies.

This year’s Cloverbud (5-8) project winners were Levi Greene,  Andrew Martin, Maddie Carpenter, Brayden Howell and Melanie Jones.

Junior Division (9-10) winners were Kendall Duncan, Cameron Tillman, Kirsten Greene and Aalysa Liles. Junior Division ( 11-12) project winners were Keyshawn Tillman, Hayden Allen, Olivia Allen, Emily Sutphin, Gracie McSwain and Quenton Cromartie. Senior Division (13-15) project winner was Na’La Brown,  Justin Duncan, Katherine Brown and  Katie Edwards.

Our  Sr. Outstanding 4-H’er was Na’La Brown. Na’La has been in 4-H for 11 years. She has participated in District Teen Retreat, NC 4-H Electric  Congress,  and teen led for her 4-H club. Some of her community service activities is volunteering with the soup ‘n’ sandwich dinners for seniors, spring and fall paper clover campaign, donating supplies to Backpack Buddies, doing crafts with residents at Meadowview Terrace and donating personal care items to the high school. In her statement she wrote: “4-H is basically my life. I have become more involved with 4-H when I became a teenager at 4-H age. I love being around people especially 4-H kids. 4-H has helped me figure out what I want to do the rest of my life. 4-H means the world to me and it is a great way to make friends and to be a good leader in the future.”

Our 4-H Volunteer Leaders were recognized with years of devoted service to the 4-H program. They were:,  Natasha Duncan 6 years, Carrissima Martin 5 years, Yolanda Mitchell 8 years, Debra Ratliff  9 years,  Addie Richardson 10 years, Janice Bennett 11 years,  Dave Edwards 12 years, Hannah Dunlap 14 years, Kim Bennett 24 years, Betty Garris 31 years, and Pearl Blount 32 years. Each Leader  was given a certificate and a token of appreciation. Two community clubs were recognized for renewing all of their paperwork to receive emerald charter seals in the county. Those clubs receiving charter seals were Eager Beavers 4-H Club and Busy Bees 4-H Club.

Certificates of Appreciation were given to volunteers that gave their time during the past year to 4-H in the capacities of teaching a program, judging  or helping structure programs. Those individuals  were Janine Rywak, Janet Gilreath and  Wadesboro Tractor Supply Store #1278.

The evening was capped off with the recognition of the 2015 4-H Leaders Association Officers: Kim Bennett- President, Sharon Edwards- Vice President, Pearl Blount Secretary and Yolanda Mitchell- Treasurer. Installation of our new officers were held and they are: President- Sharon Edwards, Vice Predisent – Carrissima Martin, Secretary-Betty Garris, Treasurer- Hannah Dunlap and Treasurer- Elect – Debra Ratliff.

For more information on the 4-H program in Anson County, contact Roshunda Terry, 4-H Agent with the Cooperative Extension Service at 704-694-2915.